he town of CHARLIEU developed around a Bénédictine Abbey founded towards 870-875. First mention of th cityof Charlieu date from 994. It was formed in the east of the Abbey; placed at the crossroads of two significant roads (roads of Paris and Lyon and the Saone in the Loire), it is populated merchants and craftsmen. In 1180, Philippe-Auguste, conscious of the strategic interest of Charlieu, placed the city under his protection and installed a royal lord of the manor there. New fortifications are then built around the city and of the Abbey, become Prieuré. At the 13th century, the middle-class men built the parish church Saint-Phillibert, at one time or the city counted more than 3000 inhabitants. 15th century, the city plays a significant military role at the time of the war between the Armagnacs (left the King) and the Burgundian ones. But this time marks also the diversion of the road traffic and the beginning of the slow decline of the city. In 1827, the industry of the weaving of silk is established in Charlieu and comes to replace a secular textile craft industry, causing a new rise of the city, which counts more than 5000 inhabitants at the end of 19th century. From its period of splendour, the city preserved stone-built houses dating from 13thcentury. But most picturesque are has sides of wood and with corbellings; they can be dated from 15th century. Others date from the Rebirth and 18th century. More than 150 trade and services animate the many streets and places very flowery, which preserve their old names. Two weekly markets (Wednesday and Saturday), from the restaurants, the antique dealers and second-hand dealers come to reinforce the importance of which always the town of Charlieu preserved.