onches-en-Ouche is a charming little town set upon a hill overlooking the Rouloir River. It’s a great place for a day or for a stay, as it is located in the heart of Normandy, between Paris and the sea-side. It’s a town with a lot of history: first Celtic, then Roman, and owes its name “Conches” to the pilgrimages made to Saint-Jacques de Compostelle in Spain by the Lord of Tosny, in the year of 1034. He stopped in a town called “Conques-en-Rouerge” where the cult of Saint Foy was celebrated, and brought relics of the Saint back to Châtillon, as the town was named at that time, and changed its name to Conches. The Coat of Arms of Conches is composed of three sea-shells on a diagonal stripe in a blue background to honour this souvenir.
Conches en Ouche is a picturesque town with a Glass and Stone Museum, a Local History Museum (opening expected beginning 2003), the Sainte Foy church with famous stained-glass windows, ruins of the Dungeon (pictured) and the Saint Jacques. This Norman style house is the setting for a visit to its magnificently vaulted cellars dating from the 12th century, and is also a local wrought-iron commerce